Rustic Fennel and Leek Quiche

Just some transparency on how I am  NOT a chef:

For this dish I wanted a good cheesy cheese. Something smooth and creamy. Fattening pretty much. I went to a “gourmet” grocery store looking for a particular cheese, I have yet to figure out how to spell it (yes I googled it. Incorrect spelling and all). I hesitantly walked to the counter assuming that everybody knew that I had know idea what I was doing. I asked for the cheese by name, and the girl over the counter said, “What?” I said the name again. She repeated, “Brioche?” I thought she repeated what I said so I shook my head yes and she said with an attitude and stupid look on her face, “That’s bread. You will find that with the other breads.” Well, I didn’t mean bread! I want cheese! My countenance sank, and to make matter worse the person beside me laughed and spoke something under his breath to her girlfriend.

But I was determined not to be defeated. I quickly pulled out my iPhone and googled the cheese it wanted. I still could not find it!! So I looked at the selection at the counter and googled the names to get descriptions to determine if any of them would be a suitable accompaniment to Fennel and Leek. I settled with a Brie Goat cheese.

When I got home I was to anxious taste, so I cut a small wedge of the cheese and the fennel. I was blown away at how they went so perfectly well together. The anise sweet flavor of the fennel paired with the sour creaminess of the cheese effortlessly.

So take that mean cheese counter girl!!

This is just a lesson to show that you really do not have to be a trained chef to create lovely dishes. Just go with your gut and take a risk.  And if everything turns out to be gross try again! Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Though the end product is a dream for your palate, the process may be tedious and fussy.

You will need

16 sheets Phyllo dough (It was Thanksgiving and I was feeling adventurous. Other than that I do not think I will ever use phyllo again!)

6 Eggs

Half a stick of butter

1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup of Milk

1/4 cup Half and Half

1 Fennel Bulb

1 whole Leek

2 Garlic cloves chopped

Parsley

Brie Goat Cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Roll your sleeves up

Preheat oven to 400

First, the Phyllo dough needs to be thawed. Follow the directions on the packet. When you go to assemble the quiche make sure to keep the dough moist, otherwise it will dry and flake making it harder to handle. (That is the pain because it dries quick!)

In a sauce pan saute garlic, fennel, and leeks with butter. Season with salt and pepper. Add parsley and cheese.

In a bowl whip the heavy whipping cream, milk, half and half, and eggs.

Sit both mixture to the send.

In a pie pan layer the Phyllo dough brushing melted butter between each layer. Pour in fennel mixture and then milk mixture. Stir gently to combine.

Place in oven and bake for 45 minutes or until firm in center and nicely browned on top.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

