Silky Pea Soup!

How I wish I had a picture of this soup. Now I am kicking myself for forgetting to take a picture before I devoured it! Well, I did have help from my meat eaters. Maybe you can envision the beautiful green color of the peas off-set by the earthy brown sauteed mushrooms. I tell you, it is just radiant!

Nonetheless this masterpiece is still blog worthy!

You will need

~  1 Large Shallot thinly sliced

~  3 Garlic cloves chopped

~  Fresh Mint chopped

~  1/4 Half and Half

~  1/4 Heavy Whipping Cream

~  1 Bag Frozen Peas

~  Olive Oil

~  Salt and Pepper

~  Baby Bella Mushrooms

~  Half box of sodium free vegetable stock

~  Crushed red pepper

The no-sweat process

In a large sauce pan saute shallots and garlic in olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Add peas and stock. Season with salt and pepper. Simmer until peas are soft and slightly broken.

Remove from heat. With food processor or hand blender puree until silken. Return to heat, add half and half and heavy whipping cream. Season with salt and pepper to taste and crushed red pepper to your personal “heat” likening. (I only added a pinch because I do not like spicy and I just wanted the dish to have a little spice at the back of the palate.) Let shimmer.

While the soup is simmering, saute mushrooms in olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Serve soup hot or cold with warm sauteed mushrooms on top.

Bon Apetit!

Leave a Reply

