Mint Rice

One morning I went out to my garden and the smell of the mint over took my senses. I began thinking about mint mocha, a mint soy latte, or even the mint coffee that I made last fall by crushing mint leaves and putting them into my french press while the coffee steeped. But this time I wanted to add mint to a dish.

So all day I thought about what I had in my pantry: Rice, chopped almonds, coconut, red pepper flakes, onions, and orange bell peppers.

Thus came this recipe for a fresh minty rice.

Gather your ingredients and let’s get started!

You will need:

*Rice (I always buy whole grain brown rice. More nutritious and it has a better flavor, at least to me anyway. I usually buy my rice from Trader Joe because they have Certified Fair Trade rice. Yes, eco-consciousness transcends ALL areas of our lives. Consider it. Others should NOT have to suffer for OUR comfort.)

*Fist full of mint.

*Cilantro (Because my cilantro is not growing as abundantly as the other herbs I had to use the stems. But it came out great!)

*Vegetable Stock

*Small Onion sliced

*One Orange Pepper sliced (or any color pepper. )

*1/2 cup chopped almonds

*1/4 coconut (any form will work perfectly)

*1 tbsp of Red Pepper Flakes

*Olive Oil

*Salt and Pepper to taste

*Secret ingredient- literally a pinch of Nutmeg

Preparation:

Sauté onion and orange  pepper until slightly soft. Do not over cook as the mixture will breakdown and become soggy. Salt and pepper. Add almonds, coconut, and red pepper flakes and continue to sauté. Add dry rice to the mixture and mix to ensure that the rice is nicely coated. Rough chop mint and cilantro and add to rice. Pour enough stock over the rice to just cover it. You do not want to boil it, but slowly steam it. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes, or until rice is soft.

Serve as a main course or side dish. I had it as a main course with a side of salad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

