What’s Your Story?

I love personal stories that are uplifting and inspiring.  Often I pour of magazine articles and books that features a person’s coming of age story, and how they defeated the odds and prospered through it all. These stories encourage me to stay focused on my goals regardless of the obstacles. If they can, so can I, and you! 

I am particularly fascinated by people who make the conscious choice to live healthy. In the June issue of Runner’s World Magazine contributor Charles Bethea shared Clarence Hartley’s amazing story. Hartley a 81-year-old two-time war vet., cancer survivor ( both lymphoma and prostate), defeated the odds, and I’m sure the doubts of others to run the Boston Marathon. In “Old-Age Dream,” Bethea praises  Hartley’s achievement as “a well-deserved journey.”  Indeed so! I could think of no better way to celebrate your life’s journey than by treating your body well and staying fit. Consider it as sort of a sucker punch to all of the trials and hardships that you have faced. Using health and fitness as a catalyst to push through life is, in my opinion, the ultimate source of a reward. Read the full article here Runner’s World.

I want to create a community of inspiration here at Vegetarian Lifestyle that will encourage you to live a healthy happy lifestyle. Though this is a “veggie” blog I am becoming super adamant about health, regardless of diet. Sometimes it is hard, and somewhat discouraging to maintain your health in the hustle and bustle of life. Too often, and particularly as a vegetarian, temptations to take shortcuts arise. Ever heard of the term “carbivore.” The veggies know what I’m talking about. When we don’t prepare ourselves for the week; breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus, we rely on the quickest and easiest thing; carbs, with most carbs coming from fast food stops. This is not the proper definition of a vegetarian. Just because a person calls themself a vegetarian does not mean they automatically eat healthy. Just like other diets, a vegetarian diet requires preparation to gain the benefits of a healthy body. I had to learn this myself. And through much determination and encouragement I can truly say that I am a Vegetarian. In all, with any diet, preparation is key. Prepare meals and free time to get active. This requires work. Hard work. But speaking from experience it becomes apart of your life’s routine. In essence, it is your lifestyle. Okay, I will step down from my soap box. 🙂 But I guess that is my story. I have decided to take control of my body and health and not the other way arround.

Tell us your story! What prompted you to take control over your body and health? What is your “Veggie Story”? What encouraging words do you have for those who are struggling with health and wellness? What encouraging words do you have for those who are interested in vegetarianism or veganism?

To be featured please email me at coffeeteanbooks@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Story?

  1. So what is being a vegetarian? Is it a state of mind? A way of life? Why can’t I just stop eating things with faces?

    • Hi Stephanie! Welcome to the blog. Thank you for your comment.

      I try not to intellectualize personal preference. And that IS what vegetarianism means to me. It is my personal preference. Their is not a straight answer to your question because it is a matter of choice. But if you seek an answer, vegetarianism, to ME, is life. I enjoy eating life. I enjoy feeling light and fulfilled at the same time. Compared to my years of eating meat, there is a certain heaviness that has been lifted. Some may interpret that to mean a free conscious, or my body is free of the literal heaviness that meat causes. These are my thoughts. However, others in the vegetarian/vegan community are not as nonchalant about the topic, as they are extremely passionate about animal wealthfare and health. The approach I take is total health regardless of diet. I do not promote vegetarianism for everyone, but I am passionate about eating clean and healthy.

      Which brings me to a statement that I made in this post.

      “Too often, and particularly as a vegetarian, temptations to take shortcuts arise. Ever heard of the term “carbivore.” The veggies know what I’m talking about. When we don’t prepare ourselves for the week; breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus, we rely on the quickest and easiest thing; carbs, with most carbs coming from fast food stops. This is not the proper definition of a vegetarian. Just because a person calls themself a vegetarian does not mean they automatically eat healthy. Just like other diets, a vegetarian diet requires preparation to gain the benefits of a healthy body.”

      Particularly the comment made about “a proper definition of a vegetarian.” When we think of the vegetarian diet we think veggies, fruit, and protein coming from beans, legumes and dairy for the lacto-ovo vegetarians. However, if you define yourself as a vegetarian and your diet consist mainly of carbs are you truely a vegetarian, as in a veggie eater? It’s kind of bazzar to me.

      Make sense?

      I think any diet is a state of mind that transcend into your way of life, or vise versa. You are what you eat. Right?

      If you are serious about your health I would first reconsider the diet that you have now. Eat clean; without preservatives, high sodium, sugars, and artifical additives. Eat real food.

      Okay, this was long. But I hope it answers your question, or at least give you a better understanding of the vegetarian lifestyle as it relates to me and my growing understanding.

Leave a Reply

