Cabbage and Brown Rice Salad

Note: This cutest bowl in the whole wide world was purchased at Anthropologie. Adorable!

Yes I have been cooking. Or, creating. I am not doing much cooking because this weather just does not lend itself to a hot oven, or a heated stove top. Nope raw it is for me this summer.

But one day last week I was all geared up to sautee onions and cabbage for a quick meal. Seems like I do a lot of sauteeing. Note to self, learn new cooking method. LOL!

Immediately I put on the brown rice, as it takes FOREVER to cook. I don’t like the instant stuff, just personal preference. I pulled out the cabbage, onion, and broccoli and started to chop. The fresh veggies smelled so good! I just could not bring myself to cook all that freshness away. So I decided to keep it raw. Great idea for the summer. Cold food for a cooler core body temperature. As I decided to keep the veggies raw I thought, “what am I going to do with the rice? Do not want to waste it. I may as well toss it all together.”  And that is how this recipe came about.

You can add just about any raw veggie to this to personalize it to your particular taste: spinach, asparagus, sweet pea, peppers, squash, zucchini; you get the idea.

You will need:

Cabbage (thinly sliced)

1/2 small onion (thinly sliced)

Fresh Broocoli (chopped steams and all)

Lemon

Cilantro

The Trio (salt, pepper, Olive Oil)

Brown Rice

Dried Cherries (craisins, or any other dried fruit)

Cook rice according to package. When done rinse with cold water.

In a large bowl combine rice, chopped veggies, and dried fruit of choice. Season with lemon, cilantro, and the trio.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage and Brown Rice Salad

Leave a Reply

