Hearty Quiche

Another holiday, another quiche.

I don’t make quiche often because I love the buttery cheesiness. Not particularly healthy. So I save this dish for special, very special occasions.

After I finished baking the quiche I made sure to clean my house of all the fatty ingredients. I gave away everything! LOL! The quiche that I have left from our brunch will be sliced into very small individual servings and stored in the freezer. When I do have it I’ll make sure to have a huge green salad with it. Lol!

20121225-214030.jpg

You will need: (this recipe will make two quiche pies)

1/2 stick of butter
2 1/2 cups milk (I used skim)
Cheese
10 eggs
Rosemary
Thyme
1/4 cup Cilantro
1/4 cup Basil
Peppers (diced)
Spinach (frozen)
Onion (sliced)
Asparagus
Salt/pepper
Frozen pie crust

Directions:
Sautee veggies with butter until soft. Season with salt/pepper. Add hearty herbs (rosemary and thyme). Remove from heat, add cilantro and basil.

In a large mixing bowl beat eggs and milk. Add cheese. Lightly season mixture with salt/pepper.

Assemble pies:
Divide sautéed mixture into pie crusts. Pour egg and milk mixture into crusts. Gently stir the mixture in the pie crust.

Bake in a preheated 400 degree oven until firm.

Eat and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

