Watercress Mint Soup

My mom and I went to the market earlier this week. I had not plan on getting anything until I saw watercress. I’ve never cooked with watercress, but I have had it on the side as a garnish. My mom saw me eyeing the greens and she insisted on buying me a pound bag. A pound! I said I’ll be good with a 1/2 pound or even a 1/4 pound. But nope mom said get the whole pound.

So what do I do with all this watercress? I took to YouTube to get some ideas. I found a lot of recipes for watercress soup. So I followed Gordon Ramsey’s method with a few adjustments.

Sorry Gordon, it was snowing out and I had no plans to go to the market to get the ingredients that I didn’t have.

Here is what you will need:

One fist full of watercress (be sure to wash and cut off the roots)
1/2 Onion sliced
2 1/2 cups of water
Mint
Lemon
Garlic
Olive oil
Salt/pepper
Blender

To prepare:
Boil water and lightly season with salt.
Sauté onion and garlic with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Add watercress. Lightly sauté for about 2 mins. Do not over cook. you want it to be a little raw to retain the nutrients. Add boiling water. Stir.

Transfer mixture into a blender. Be careful! Heat and a blender can be a disaster. Make sure contents in blender are not over half full. You need plenty of space to allow the heat to rise without exploding through the blender. (I have exploded my blender before. LOL!! O_o)

Add mint blend until smooth. Dress with lemon juice. Serve.

Eat well! Be well!

20121227-210144.jpg

20121227-210153.jpg

Leave a Reply

