Middle Eastern Asian Fusion

 

This meal came together a little unexpectedly. Cooking was far from what I felt like doing. I spent the morning with my grandmother watching the inauguration and chatting. By the time I got home around 4:00pm, I was pooped and all I wanted to do was lounge on the couch and flip through cable channels. But then, quite weirdly, I got up, went to the kitchen and started chopping veggies. It was almost robotic. My mind was screaming, “No! sit down!” Despite this, I actually created not one, but two meals; roasted veggies, and a kumquat and kale dish. More on the roasted veggies in another post.

I made the kale for two reasons. I had it and I didn’t want it to go to waste. I also realized that the roasted veggies would take a lot longer than expected. I had kumquats that were getting a little too ripe. As I sauteed the kale I took a chance and added the kumquats, so this was an experiment.  I served this with Israeli couscous. Just a little nutritional facts about this meal. Kale is a super food. According to WebMD, kale is one of the healthiest veggies on the planet. Here’s a few more facts about this super food:

One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

Let’s not forget the couscous. Israeli couscous are pearl sized, though this pasta comes in different forms, colors, and flavors. I also have the finely ground couscous. The flavor is nutty and an easy way to inject some serious protein in your diet.

20130121-182942.jpg

For this meal you will need

Curly kale

Shallot sliced (half or whole depending on how much kale you have)

Ginger (freshly minced)

Garlic (freshly minced)

Kumquat (sliced with seeds removed)

1/2 tsp Sunflower oil

Salt and pepper

Toasted Almonds

Cook couscous according to package directions.

In a hot wok, add sunflower oil and sauté shallot, ginger, and garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Add kumquat and sauté for about 2 minutes. Add kale and cook until soft, but not mushy and wilted. Remove from heat and add toasted almonds.

Serve with a glass of fresh brewed whole leaf Moroccan mint tea garnished with kumquat slices. So good!

20130121-183536.jpg

Leave a Reply

