Coconut Curry Sweet Potato Soup

20130527-212921.jpg

This Memorial Day I did nothing. Well I did not do the usual family gathering cookout. I went to the movies with my mom and godmom. I bought two fabulous pairs of shoes and had yummy veggie sushi wrapped in pickled ginger. I hate seaweed.

And here it is getting late into the evening and I’m just having dinner. I decided to have something lite because of the late hour. No need to go to bed with heavy food on my stomach.

This soup was perfect for the cool spring evening. You will need…

1 Can coconut milk

1 Apple

2 Carrots

1 Sweet potato

4 Small sweet peppers

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp pumpkin spice

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp of your favorite Thai curry paste

Coconut oil

Salt (I used Himalayan sea salt)/Pepper to taste

Peel and chop veggies and apple. Heat coconut oil in large sauce pan and sauté Thai paste. Add veggies and apple, sauté until covered with paste. Add boiling water just enough to slightly cover mixture. Add coconut milk. Add seasonings and let mixture simmer until veggies are soft.

Once veggies are cooked through remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature. Purée in batches. Return to heat. Add salt and pepper if needed. Serve hot.

This recipe is enough for two very hungry people or 4-6 appetizer servings.

Eat well! Be well!

Leave a Reply

