And the Weekend Continues

Two post in one day. I’m getting the hang of this. You would think that I would be a professional blogger considering I’ve had this blog sense 2009! But nope. I am still the infrequent blogger.

Anyway…

Today was the annual cookout for my church. This is one of the highlights of my summer. Not just because I get to prepare a fabulous meal, but because I absolutely love the solitude of nature. Though it rained, or poured, on us, the time outdoors was serene. I went for a walk and was lulled by the sounds of a stream running near by. I could have camped out for the rest of the day in peace. It is good to get away from the rush of the city and the busyness of the day to day.

So what was in my basket?

IMG_2384

IMG_2382

A completely clean and organic veggie meal, of course! On the menu was a fruity kale salad with a strawberry vinaigrette dressing, Trader Joe’s Masala burger, nix the bun, topped with an avocado dip all atop red and green lettuce, fresh cherries, blue corn chips, kettle popcorn and a sparkling mineral water. Quite the basket.

I have tried raw kale salads before, but I was underwhelmed each time I’ve made them. Let me be honest, I didn’t like them. I learned about the massaging technique and I have tried that, but I just did not like how the kale turned out. The kale was still tough and the flavor is not palatable to me. So I did something a little different this time.

20130629-235638.jpg

20130629-235615.jpg

20130629-235541.jpg

For this lovely salad you will need:

1/2 bag of fresh Kale

8 large strawberries (sliced)

1/4 cup cranraisins

1/4 cup sliced almonds

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1 leek (sliced)

1 peaches (thinly sliced)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Salt

Pepper

Steam kale unsalted and without oil for 1 minute and blanch in cold water. Allow to drain.

For the dressing add six sliced strawberries, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper to a food processor. Blend until smooth.

In a large bowl add drained kale, remaining strawberries, almonds, sunflower seeds, leeks, peaches, and dressing. Mix until well coated with dressing. Add salt and pepper to taste.

20130629-235740.jpg

20130629-235805.jpg

This should serve one very hungry person or three people for a healthy side dish. For a fresh, more crisp taste, try adding a squeeze of lime.

The avocado dip was quite easy. In fact, almost embarrassingly easy. I just mixed a 1/2 of a fresh avocado with my favorite fresh salsa from Trader Joe’s and added a little salt, cumin, coriander, and red chili pepper.

IMG_2385

Now that I am completely pooped from my very long weekend I treated myself to my favorite locally made ice cream. A mix of pistachio ice cream, chocolate fudge brownie, and black cherry ice cream.

IMG_2409

So worth the indulgence!

Eat well! Be Well!

Leave a Reply

